Instytut Automatyki
Politechniki Łódzkiej
Łódź, 22-24 listopada 2023
kosene @

Plenary session

Plenary lecture „Development of control methods in power electronics and drives” will be given by professor Marian Piotr Kaźmierkowski

The lecture reviews the technology status of control strategies for PWM rectifier/inverter-fed induction motor drives developed in the last 40 years. Since not all of them have found wide industrial applications, only the most popular strategies commercially used and some of the future trends will be discussed. After introduction and classification the torque control methods will be presented in two main groups: linear (FOC, DTC-SVM) and nonlinear (DTC, DSC) controllers. Also, the group of modern nonlinear control methods (FLC, Multiscalar) will be overviewed. Among future trends a special emphasis will be given on the Model Predictive Control (MPC). This trend is supported by the DSP producers that increase the operation speed and computation capacity as well as offers specialized circuits (FPGA). Therefore, it is possible to implement an on-line optimization using MPC principles. In the second part the main control techniques for PWM rectifiers will be reviewed with emphasis on the similarities to motor control schemes. Specific problems of the grid connected operation in the generator mode (in renewable energy systems) will be highlighted. Selected oscillograms accompany the presentation in order to illustrate properties of the described control strategies.

Professor Marian Piotr Kaźmierkowski IEEE Fellow, received the M.S., Ph.D. and Dr. Sci. degrees in electrical engineering from the Institute of Control and Industrial Electronics (ICIE), Warsaw University of Technology, Poland, in 1968, 1972, and 1981, respectively. From 1987 to 2008, he was the Director of ICIE. Since 2003 he has been the Head of the Centre of Excellence on Power Electronics and Intelligent Control for Energy Conservation – PELINCEC at ICIE, and since 1996 consultant at the Electrotechnical Institute (IEl) in Warsaw, Poland.

He was V-ce President of the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society (1999-2001) and the Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON INDUSTRIAL ELECTRONICS (2004-2006).

He received an Honorary Doctorate degree from the Aalborg University in 2004; from the Institut National Polytechnique de Toulouse, France in 2010, and the University of Zielona Gora, Poland in 2012. In 2005 he received the Dr.-Ing. Eugene Mittelmann Achievement Award from the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society, and in 2007 the SIEMENS Research Award in Poland.

In 2007 he was elected as the Corresponding Member of Polish Academy of Sciences. Currently, he is the Dean of the Engineering Sciences Department, Polish Academy of Sciences.

Strona zaktualizowana: 3.04.2022